Board of Trustees

Westfield Friends School operates as an independent private school under the governance of the Board of Trustees, appointed by the Westfield Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends. The Board is comprised of dedicated professionals that include members of Westfield Monthly Meeting, alumni, educators, and current and former parents.
The Board of Trustees has fiduciary responsibility for the School as a whole, predominantly: setting long-term strategy and policy, overseeing financial affairs, maintenance and enhancements to the physical plant, long-range planning and fundraising, and the hiring and supervising of the Head of School. Standing subcommittees of the Board include Development, Finance, and Governance.

2023–2024 Board of Trustees

Stephanie Judson, Clerk
Robert Abramowitz '61, Secretary
David Skinner '00, Treasurer
John Bond
Angela Garcia '80
Brad Gibson
Dr. Margaret Haviland, Ex Officio
Douglas Maier
Luke McKinstry
Joan Spagnoletti
Frank Urbano
Darren White
If you have suggestions, questions, or concerns, please email the Clerk of the Board of Trustees, Stephanie Judson ([email protected])

FAQ'S about Quakers

The following can be seen on the Friends General Conference* (FGC) website explaining 'About Quakers'. There are more FAQ's answered on the site including about Quakers Engaging in the World, Quaker Practices, Quakers Through the World, and Quaker History.
Westfield Friends School is in a care relationship with Westfield Friends Meeting.
Westfield Friends Meeting is a part of Philadelphia Yearly Meeting.

Quaker Beliefs

We believe that every person is loved and guided by God. Broadly speaking, we affirm that “there is that of God in everyone.” Everyone is known by God and can know God in a direct relationship. We are called to attend to this relationship and to be guided by it. Quakers use many words to describe the Divine. Some of them include: God, the Light Within, Christ, Spirit, Seed, and Inward Teacher.
The Quaker way has deep Christian roots that form our understanding of God, our faith, and our practices. Many Quakers consider themselves Christian, and some do not. Many Quakers today draw spiritual nourishment from our Christian roots and strive to follow the example of Jesus. Many other Quakers draw spiritual sustenance from various religious traditions, such as Buddhism, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and the nature religions.
Quakers invite the word of God to be written in our hearts, rather than as words on paper—we have no creed. But we also believe that if we are sincerely open to the Divine Will, we will be guided by a Wisdom that is more compelling than our own more superficial thoughts and feelings. This can mean that we will find ourselves led in directions or receiving understandings that we may not have chosen just from personal preference. Following such guidance is not always easy. This is why community is important to Quakers, why we turn to each other for worshipful help in making important choices, and why we read the reflections of other Quakers who have lived faithful lives.

The emphasis of a Quaker’s life is on present time―on experiencing and following the leadings of the Light in our lives today. Individual Quakers hold a variety of beliefs about what follows our lives on earth.

The Bible is a book close to the hearts of many Friends. Many Quakers turn to the Hebrew and Christian scriptures for inspiration, insight, and guidance. They are valued as a source of wisdom that has been sacred to many generations. Quakers are informed by Biblical scholarship that offers perspective on the creation of the Bible and the understanding we have of it today. Most Quakers do not consider the Bible to be the final authority or the only source of sacred wisdom. We read it in the context of other religious writings and sources of wisdom, including the Light Within and worshipful community discernment. Some Quakers have little interest in the Bible.

Quaker Worship

Yes! You are welcome to attend Quaker worship. There are Quakers of all ages, religious backgrounds, races and ethnicities, sexual orientations, gender identities, abilities, and classes. All are welcome. You can find meetings in your area by using our Quaker Finder.

Quaker worship is based on silent waiting, where we expect to come into the presence of God. In this living silence, we listen for the still, small voice that comes from God through the Inward Light. Worshiping together in silence is a way for a community to be brought together in love and faithfulness.

During silent worship, anyone—adult or child—may feel inspired to give vocal ministry (speak out of the silence). After the person speaks the message, the silence resumes. Such messages may be offered several times during a meeting for worship, or the whole period of worship may be silent. Someone will signal the close of worship by shaking hands with another person, then everyone shakes hands with those seated nearby. For more on silent worship, see the QuakerSpeak video Quaker Silence.

For Quakers, sacraments are understood as an inward, spiritual, experience. We don’t have a custom of performing sacramental ceremonies. For more on why not, see the QuakerSpeak video “Form without Substance.”

Dress comfortably. In general, Quakers wear everyday clothes to meeting. This may range from what you would wear at work in an office to jeans and a t-shirt. You are welcome to join us for worship as you are!

* Friends General Conference (FGC) provides services and resources for individual Friends, meetings, and people interested in the Quaker way. FGC is an association of regional Quaker communities in the U.S. and Canada working together to nurture a vital Quaker faith.